Tags:
create new tag
view all tags

Interrupt Running Processes

The user can now interrupt running processes, and designers can break into Input processes.


Overview:

The user can now interrupt running processes, and designers can break into Input processes while in Application Design.

No action is required to activate this ability, it is built in to the 5.3 engine and client.

To interrupt a running job, press Control+END simultaneously (NOTE: This refers to the keyboard END key, not the logical key that sends an END to Appx, such as F8 or Esc). On Mac keyboards without an END key, you can use FN+RIGHT_ARROW for the END key, the complete sequence would be FN+CTRL+RIGHT_ARROW.

The designer can control which processes can be interrupted via the 'User Cancel Ok' flag in Additional Attributes at the process level. The designer can also control the behaviour of the parent process when a child process is cancelled via the 'Cancel Disposition' under Additional Attributes for Optional and Automatic children. The predefined field --- CANCEL OK can also be used to prevent or allow a process to be interrupted.

When interrupting a running job, the End of Process event point is executed for all processes and control is returned to the user.

In Application Design, the designer can use this keystroke to interrupt a running process and enter the debugger, even if a TRAP has not been previously set. To enable this capabilty while running outside of Application Design (ie, as a normal user), set the environment variable APPX_DB_TRAPS to a non blank value.

In Role Based Security, there is a new flag at the Database, Department, Workgroup, Role and User levels that controls this Cancel ability (Cancel Ok?). You can clear this flag to indicate cancelling a running process is not allowed. This further restricts any designer specified cancel flags, but does not override them. In other words, checking this flag (Cancel Allowed) will not allow a process to be cancelled if the designer has specified the process cannot be cancelled. Clearing this flag (Cancel Not Allowed) will prevent any process from being cancelled, even if the designer has not specified the process cannot be cancelled. Leaving this as a '?' is the same as checking it. This flag can be specified at the Database, Department, Workgroup, Role and User levels. Lower levels take priority over higher levels, ie, a value specified at the User level will override a value at Role, Workgroup, Department and Database levels. If you leave it as a '?' at a lower level, then the higher level setting will apply.

Comments:

Read what other users have said about this page or add your own comments.


-- JeanNeron - 2013-10-03

Edit | Attach | Watch | Print version | History: r8 < r7 < r6 < r5 < r4 | Backlinks | Raw View | Raw edit | More topic actions
Topic revision: r8 - 2014-10-03 - AlKalter
 
This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platform Powered by PerlCopyright © 2008-2020 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? Send feedback